I have been having problems with the server running out of resources and giving errors. It is better but I'm still getting some periodically. Please report any you get to me at ken@kyler.com.

Need a new front tire

DAMN maintenance and repair thread; including Farkle Fests! :boohoo:
Rut Row
DAMN Grand Poohba

Need a new front tire

Post by Rut Row » Sat May 02, 2009 5:28 pm

Well, the front tire on the KTM has most of the knobs ripped off or chunked on the outsides of the tire. So I'm looking for a new one. I have a Trakmaster II on the back and am happy with that. The front is a Metzeler 6-Day Extreme.

mdubya, gtop, Dave - what are you running nowadays?
Ken
Die young as late as possible, remember who you were before the world told you how it should be. -- Barry Morris

gtop

Re: Need a new front tire

Post by gtop » Sat May 02, 2009 6:53 pm

I'm running a Bridgestone M59 front. Its holding up well. No chunks or cuts .Seems to hold well in corners.

crofrog
DAMN Expert

Post by crofrog » Tue May 05, 2009 1:19 am

There is only one true front tire....

Pirelli MT16

This thing does stoppies in the dirt all day long, has excellent side bite, seems pretty long wearing to me and has worked in every condition I've tried it in.

gtop

Post by gtop » Tue May 05, 2009 7:23 am

crofrog wrote:There is only one true front tire....

Pirelli MT16

I havent tried the MT16 front but I do know the MT16 rear hooks like mad and is pretty indestructable in the rock gardens

Louge

Post by Louge » Tue May 05, 2009 9:02 am

Non-DOT MT 16s wear like iron. The stiff sidewalls allow low pressures w/o pinch flats. They're great in rocks, good in mud if you keep your speed up to clean the lugs and sketchy on asphalt. All three of us ran DOT MT 21s on the TAT at 18-19lbs without any flats over 4200 miles. It's a good 90/10 tire that handles quite well on both dry and wet asphalt.

MT 16
Image Image

MT 21
Image Image

Rut Row
DAMN Grand Poohba

MT-16