I was unable get the old avatars reimported. Regretfully, you will have to upload your avatar again. Please report any issues here,.

New rider, new area, looking for riding input

Announcements about the board plus help for the n00bs. New members -- say howdy here! :hi5:
Plus how to register for the board
motojunky
DAMN Poohba

Re: New rider, new area, looking for riding input

Post by motojunky »

phoo wrote:Carpool or you can probably get a small, open trailer for behind your car. The bike isn't all that heavy, though that civic isn't all that powerful, eh? :)

~Patrick
My old beater '93 civic pulls a 4x8 trailer & bike just fine. I usually use my truck to haul, but with fuel prices going nuts, I think I'll be using the honda more often.
old dual sported XR250R
scorpa SY250 trials
some other crap
Ballsnark

New rider, new area, looking for riding input

Post by Ballsnark »

Hey DAMN riders,

I'm new here in a couple ways. First, I'm new to MD as of fairly recently. Second, I've got a 2005 drz400S with a supermoto setup and the stock S wheelset with some nice knobbies. I bought it in this setup from a good friend. Unfortunately, I've never taken it out of its urban home so it has only ever seen sumo riding.

That being said, I come from downhill biking and see lots of parallels, other than that my dizzer is about 260lbs heavier. I really want to put the knobbies on and go to town.

Final thing. I was dumb, and bought a Honda Civic (facepalm). Any thoughts on how I can get to trails? I don't want to shred my dirt tires trekking 50mi to VA or WV. I have been thinking about just sucking it up and renting a u-haul. Thoughts? I heard there is some trails in MoCo, but I would prefer not to tread where I don't belong.

P.S. I'd like to go on some DAMN rides. I poked around a little, sounds badass.

Thanks!
Grady
DAMN Grand Poohba

Post by Grady »

Welcome to the DAMN group :thumbup: