Offroad gear

General BS :bull: and other irrelevant chit-chat :kumbaya:
badguy
DAMN Expert

Offroad gear

Post by badguy » Thu May 13, 2010 6:39 pm

So I'm brand new to anything offroad, but spending a day going 40mph or less made me realize I want some kind of mesh MX gear or something to wear with the armor I got. I saw these at Competition Accessories and thought it might be a good deal...any reason I shouldn't go for it?

http://www.compacc.com/p/Answer-2010-Io ... nt/1004010

http://www.compacc.com/p/Answer-2010-Io ... ys/1004009

I want a helmet and goggles too, but that can wait since my street helmet is doing ok for now. Any suggestions on those? I was thinking about trying a DS helmet so I can use the shield on the road (maybe the AFX?) but maybe I should just go with an MX helmet since I already have something for the street...

What do you think?

Bucho
DAMN Admin

Re: Offroad gear

Post by Bucho » Thu May 13, 2010 7:54 pm

Not to be negative, but why do you want a motocross jersey and pants? They don't really provide any protection or do anything special in my opinion. A couple years ago I bought a package deal of MX armor, boots, pants, and jersey. Not that theres anything wrong w/ them. I guess they are pretty comfortable. But most MX pants don't have pockets.
If you want them, then get them, but its nothing that you need. The MX armor is the important stuff.

I like MX helmets for offroading. They are a little bit cooler in the heat, and I like wearing googles. When I wear a regular full face street helmet I always end up w/ dust floating around inside my face shield. I guess my eyes are sensitive, it bugs my eyes.
Yamaha WR250R
Yamaha TW200
Surron UltraBee

Grady
DAMN Grand Poohba

Post by Grady » Thu May 13, 2010 8:46 pm